Your session is about to expire

Your session will automatically expire in  seconds.

Skip Navigation Links

ICD-10 Provider

The references and links below may not have been edited to include the
proposed implementation date change.

The Department of Health and Human Service (HHS) published a final ruling in early August 2014, confirming an Oct. 1, 2015, mandated transition to ICD-10.

ICD-9 codes will be replaced with ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes (used on all claims) and ICD-10-PCS procedure codes (used for inpatient facility claims only). This change does not affect Current Procedural Terminology (CPT®) coding for outpatient procedures. This information is only a general summary and is not intended to take the place of the written law or regulation. You are encouraged to review the specific statutes and regulations .

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has provider resources that you may use throughout the entire initiative. The Provider Resources page on the CMS website includes a number of implementation tools that support the transition to ICD-10, such as implementation handbooks designed specifically for the following audiences:

The Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) collaborated with leading health care payers, providers, health information technology vendors and financial institutions to create the HIMSS ICD-10 Playbook . It is intended to be used as a reference for developing a project plan.

CPT copyright 2010 American Medical Association (AMA). All rights reserved. CPT is a registered trademark of the AMA.

Linked In
Follow us on TwitterFind us on Facebook     A Division of Health Care Service Corporation, a Mutual Legal Reserve Company, an Independent Licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield
     Association.   © Copyright 2014 Health Care Service Corporation. All Rights Reserved.