Related Information

CMS Video: ICD-10 Coding Basics Revisited 

August 2015 Special Edition: ICD-10 PDF Document

CMS Quick Start Guide 

CMS Road to 10 

ICD-10 Alert PDF Document

ICD-10 Provider FAQs PDF Document

Use ICD-10 Now - Here’s How PDF Document


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) published a final ruling in early August 2014, confirming an October 1, 2015, mandated transition to ICD-10. As of this compliance deadline, all Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) covered entities must use ICD-10 on claims and other health care transactions.

While this section of our website is not intended to take the place of the written law or regulation, we used it throughout the ICD-10 transition to call your attention to key details of potential impact to your practice. This information will remain available post-implementation for reference purposes, particularly for providers who may not have been ready as of the Oct. 1, 2015, compliance deadline.

Our Readiness

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana (BCBSMT) made plans to meet all mandated timelines and requirements.

Learn more »

BCBSMT Testing Program

Provider ICD-10 testing at BCBSMT started in May 2015 and concluded in August 2015.

Learn more »

Assess Your Readiness

Were you prepared to meet the compliance deadline with confidence?

Learn more »

Review Implementation Details

Claims that do not include ICD-10 codes, as required, will not be accepted.

Learn more »

Stay Informed

It's important to stay in the loop on industry updates, educational opportunities and other resources.

Learn more »